top of page

Volunteer Spotlight: Alyssa Gladding


(**PR Note: Every other week, a "volunteer spotlight" post will be written about a volunteer with Branch Out, highlighting their contributiont to the program and the environment.)

Alyssa Gladding is an undeclared freshman in CAS, interested in studying Physics and Computer Science. She has been a member of Branch Out since Fall 2015.

What is your favorite service that you've ever done with Branch Out?

“I’ve only been able to do one, which I feel bad about, but the rooftop garden was awesome. I love to garden. I also liked when we talked about the American dentist who poached the famous lion [the Cecil the Lion ethics debate], and when we talked about the impact of natives [people] on the environment.”

What interests you the most about the environment?

“The interconnectedness, and how it is connected to every aspect of our lives in one way or another. We have to help it, and we’re hurting it. We rely on it, but it relies on us. I also like the pureness of it – it’s real and tangible”

How are you environmentally sustainable?

“I always use my reusable coffee mug, I recycle my papers and boxes and used containers, I walk everywhere – everyone does but I say that it counts – I eat a mainly plant-based diet.”

~~~~~

Check Branch Out's Calendar for upcoming one-time events, or sign up to join our weekly programs at the Audubon Habitat Education and Wildlife Sanctuary or Boston Nature Center.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page